The Ordre des Canardiers

Fichier 1

The Ordre des Canardiers. was created in January 1986 by Michel GUERET, Founding President, with 20 personalities who cared for the maintenance of our cultural heritage: culinary art, symbolized by the development of a great regional recipe, Rouennaise Duckling. With the support of Mayor and Senator Jean LECANUET, the Ordre des Canardiers spread in France and even abroad. Its main activity consists in promoting the recipe, informing the public and training chefs and students in catering colleges;

Michel Gueret - Président Fondateur de l’Ordre des Canardiers
Michel Gueret - Founding President of the Order of Canardiers
Les membres fondateurs de l'Ordre des Canardiers en 1987
The founding members of the Order of Canardiers in 1987

The Ordre des Canardiers and the City of Rouen are linked in two ways : onthe one hand, the Mayor is inducted Great Honourable Canardier and on the other hand, the Canardiers' coat of arms is inspired from the City's.

Blason de la ville de Rouen
Coat of Arms of the city of Rouen
Médaille Ordre des Canardiers

Medal of the Ordre des Canardiers

The members are either professionals, who are inducted Master Canardiers, or gourmets who defend the local gastronomy and are inducted Lady Canardiers or Gentleman Canardiers. Personalities who contribute to the promotion of the Ordre can be inducted Honourable Canardiers.

The members are regularly invited to take part in events including a cultural activity and a meal.

The Ordre des Canardiers is managed by a Governing Board, which elected during the General Assembly.

Governing Board

After the general assembly on October 5th, 2019, here are the members of the board :  

Elected Members

David BROCHET, Josette CHEVAL, Gérard COUDRAY, Paul DEFEUILLET, Alain DEFOUR, John DOUGHTY, Philippe DUJAY, Line FIQUET, Frédéric FOURE, Pierre GUERET, Jean-Pierre GUERIN, Jean-Louis GUIBEY, Loïc LELIEUR, Jean LOISEL, Didier MARLAY, Julien MARCHAL-GUERET, Maryvonne MAZE-COLBOC, Patrice THOMAS, Jean-Pierre VILLETTE.

Executive Board

Patrice THOMAS President, Gérard COUDRAY 1st Vice President, Philippe DUJAY 2nd Vice Président , Maryvonne MAZE-COLBOC Secretary, Jean LOISEL Treasurer, Josette CHEVAL, Paul DEFEUILLET, John DOUGHTY , Frédéric FOURE, Jean Louis GUIBEY

Fouding Members

Gilles HAUVILLE, Patrick HERR.

L'ordre des Canardiers

Fichier 1

C’est en 1986, à l’initiative de Michel GUERET, Chef-propriétaire de l’Hôtel de Dieppe à Rouen, que nait l’Ordre des Canardiers. Le but de l’association est la sauvegarde d’un patrimoine culturel régional, l’art culinaire symbolisé par la mise en valeur de la recette du Caneton à la Rouennaise. Soutenu par Jean LECANUET, Sénateur-Maire de Rouen et accompagné de 20 personnalités sensibilisées aux traditions culinaires, l’Ordre des Canardiers a progressivement dépassé les limites de la Normandie et est présent dans différentes régions de France et pays du monde. Depuis, l’Ordre assure ses missions de découverte et d’information auprès du grand-public ainsi que de formation et de transmission de la recette auprès des professionnels et élèves des établissements d’enseignement.

Michel Gueret - Président Fondateur de l’Ordre des Canardiers
Michel Gueret - Président Fondateur de l’Ordre des Canardiers
Les membres fondateurs de l'Ordre des Canardiers en 1987
Les membres fondateurs de l'Ordre des Canardiers en 1987

Le lien entre la ville de Rouen et l’Ordre des Canardiers se retrouve par le fait que le Maire de Rouen reçoit le titre de Grand Canardier d’Honneur et par le blason de l’Ordre, qui s’inspire de celui de la ville de Rouen.

Blason de la ville de Rouen
Blason de la ville de Rouen
Médaille Ordre des Canardiers
Médaille Ordre des Canardiers

Les membres de l’Ordre des Canardiers sont soit des professionnels, recevant le titre de Maîtres Canardiers soit des amateurs, défenseurs de la gastronomie rouennaise, recevant le titre de Dames ou Gentilhommes Canardiers. Le titre de Canardier d’Honneur peut être remis à des personnalités participant au rayonnement de l’Ordre.

Les membres de l’Ordre sont régulièrement conviés à des rencontres gastronomiques pouvant être associées à des découvertes culturelles.

L’Ordre des Canardiers est administré par un Conseil de l’Ordre, élu lors de l’Assemblée Générale.

Conseil de l’ordre

Les membres fondateurs sont membres de droit du Conseil de l’Ordre et du bureau.

A l’issue de l’assemblée générale du 5 octobre 2019, le Conseil de l’Ordre des Canardiers se compose comme suit :

Membres élus

David BROCHET, Josette CHEVAL, Gérard COUDRAY, Paul DEFEUILLET, Alain DEFOUR, John DOUGHTY, Philippe DUJAY, Line FIQUET, Frédéric FOURE, Pierre GUERET, Jean-Pierre GUERIN, Jean-Louis GUIBEY, Loïc LELIEUR, Jean LOISEL, Didier MARLAY, Julien MARCHAL-GUERET, Maryvonne MAZE-COLBOC, Patrice THOMAS, Jean-Pierre VILLETTE

Bureau

Patrice THOMAS Président, Gérard COUDRAY 1er Vice Président, Philippe DUJAY 2ème Vice Président , Maryvonne MAZE-COLBOC Secrétaire, Jean LOISEL Trésorier, Josette CHEVAL, Paul DEFEUILLET, John DOUGHTY , Frédéric FOURE, Jean Louis GUIBEY

Membres de droit

Gilles HAUVILLE, Patrick HERR